• Administration
  • Department of Public Works
  • Caro Fire Department
  • Ordinance Enforcement
  • Parks & Recreation
  • Caro Police Department
  • Wastewater Treatment
  • Water Department
  • Caro Government

    The City of Caro and its officers shall be vested with any and all powers and immunities, expressed and implied, which cities are or hereafter may be permitted to exercise or provide for in their charters under the Constitution and statues mandated by the State of Michigan. It shall include all the powers of cities as fully and completely as though those powers and immunities were specifically enumerated in and provided for in the City charter.

    The City of Caro shall have the council-manager, non-partisan form of government. There shall be a city council consisting of six councilpersons and the mayor, who shall be deemed a member of council for all purposes. The council shall constitute the legislative and governing body of the city and shall have the power and authority to adopt such ordinances and resolutions, as it shall deem proper in the exercise of its power.

    The city council meets the first and third Mondays of each month at 7:30 p.m. at the Caro Municipal Building, 317 S. State Street, unless a holiday falls on the scheduled Monday. All meetings are posted pursuant to the Open Meetings Act. The public is encouraged to attend.


    Appointed Officials

    The City of Caro utilizes the following positions to help in the running of the city in it’s day to day operations.


    Matthew Lane

    City Manager

    Sara Savage


    Gary Crews

    City Attorney

    Brian Newcomb

    Police Chief

    Randy Heckroth

    Fire Chief

    Director of Public Works

    Randy Heckroth

    Zoning Administrator

    Curtis Wells

    Director of Waste Water Treatment Services